MCAA Award Ceremony – who are the winners?

The MCAA Award Ceremony took place on the second day of the MCAA General Assembly. Find out more about the winners and the procedure!

Why an MCAA Award ceremony?

The Marie Curie Alumni Association (MCAA) wants to recognise members who have made contributions to the Marie Curie community, as well as career achievements.

MCAA Alumni of the Year Award 2014

This award aims to identify, highlight and promote outstanding contributions made by Members to the community through their professional career. Contributions can take any form, such as exceptional promotion of the programme, or remarkable results that show the value of activities supported by Marie Curie programme.

Any Member can nominate his or herself for the award.

Mostafa Moonir Shawrav was awarded the MCAA Alumni of the Year Award 2014. Originally from Bangladesh, he worked on his Marie Curie project at the Vienna University of Technology after having been awarded an Initial Training Network (ITN) grant.

MCAA Career Award 2014

This award recognises an outstanding career achievement by an MCAA Member. Career achievement can take various forms, such as scientific excellence, innovativeness of research approach, or outstanding contribution to the overall research community.

Juan Blanco was awarded the MCAA Career Award 2014. Originally from Spain, he benefited from a Career Integration Grant to work on ecological models at the University of Navarre.

We wish both a lot of success in their respective careers!

Award Committee – Who are they?

The Members of the Award Committee are as follows:

  • Mrs Veselina Angelova – European Commission;
  • Prof. Panagiotis Bamidis – Aristotle University of Thessaloniki;
  • Prof. Laurent Sébastien Furnier – Université de Nantes;
  • Prof. Helen King – Open University;
  • Dr Vincent Reillon – Science Europe.

Before assessing the applications, Members of the Committee have to sign a conflict of interest declaration. They register then their appraisal through an assessment template where they have to identify the top three applicants and provide their reasoning. The Members must then reach a consensus on the final nominees.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact the Chair of the Award Committee:

Survey button